Skip to content

Little Five Points Sells Out

July 25, 2008

I thought I recognized Little Five Points in this commercial that I see fifty times each night as I watch The Daily Show and Colbert Report. Seriously, one hour a night and I see the same commercial a zillion times. I see the park in L5P on TV more than I see the actual place, except when I went to see Spiritualized this week. Anyways, turns out that it was directed by Atlanta resident Hype Williams. I never saw him, but he used to come into the video store I used to work at, Videodrome, and would ask for Japanese splatter/horror recommendations. Well, this commercial is no BELLY (which I like), and I hope they paid Criminal Records to use their counter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dookie permalink
    July 26, 2008 3:39 PM

    Yes this gave me quite a laugh, especially after reading this little item on the criminal site lambasting said corporation…

    http://www.criminal.com/NewsItem/969

    They deleted my “I’m lovin’ it” comment on their myspace page, too.

    I talked with Shannon about it, and apparently the landlord was the real sell-out, and agreed to the shoot without the indie record shop’s consent. So we can still shop there knowing that George Clinton will be the only guy asking us if fries go with that shake (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3fCTrU5qkI)…

  2. July 28, 2008 11:15 PM

    well i’ll be damned. what next a got milk ad shot at zestos?

  3. July 29, 2008 9:52 AM

    I didn’t see you at Spiritualized!

    This is insane. Going to blog about it later too.

Leave a Reply

